Home > NRL Asia > Hong Kong > Hong Kong Residents to join ASEAN International Nines

Hong Kong Residents to join ASEAN International Nines

The Hong Kong Residents have been confirmed as the 10th and Final team taking part in the 2019 ASEAN International Nines in Pattaya on November 9.

The Residents side was first formed in 2015 by the Hong Kong Rugby League to help develop Rugby League across Asia and was undefeated in their tours of the Philippines and Thailand from 2015 – 2017. Now after a year hiatus, the Residents team will return as a Nines team and return back to Thailand to take part in the second ASEAN International Nines tournament.

Captained by Matthew Jones, the Residents will look to continue their winning ways as they face sides from Ireland, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Thailand in what will be a truely international event at Horse Shoe Point Stadium in Pattaya.

The inaugural ASEAN International Nines tournament was won by the Jamberoo Superoos after they defeated the defeated Coogee Randwick Wombats in last year’s Final.

Middleburg Rabbitohs (South Africa)
Velocity All Stars (Australia)
Waverley Panthers (Australia)
Ireland (Ireland)
Diamond Chiefs (Papua New Guinea)
Kelston Old Boys (New Zealand)
Global Lions (New Zealand)
Bridge Pa (New Zealand)
Hong Kong Residents (Hong Kong)
ASEAN Barbarians (Thailand)

2015: Hong Kong Residents 40 defeated Manila Storm 36 – Manila, Philippines
2016: Hong Kong Residents 20 defeated Thailand Residents 16 – Pattaya, Thailand
2017: Hong Kong Residents 58 defeated Philippines Admirals 8 – Manila, Philippine

You may also like
2019 ASEAN International Nines draw released
Middelburg Rabbitohs to take part in ASEAN 9s
USO 4 Life win 2019 Hong Kong Nines
Ireland to take part in ASEAN International Nines