Home > NRL Asia > Thailand > ASEAN Super League kicks off this Sunday

ASEAN Super League kicks off this Sunday

Asia’s first regional Rugby League competition will starts this Sunday when the inaugural ASEAN Super League competition kicks off.

The new competition, which is a joint initiative between the ASEAN Rugby League, Isaan Federation of Clubs XIII (IFC), Central Federation of Clubs XIII (CFC) and the Laos Federation of Clubs XIII, will feature up to eight teams in what is set to be the largest club competition played in Asia to date.

Kick starting the competition will be the Central Zone, which will see teams from Bangkok, Sattahip and Bang Lamung take part in the opening round at KMUT Stadium in Ladkrabang.

Taking place in the opening fixture, the Bang Lamung Broncos will host one of Thailand’s foundation clubs, the Bangkok City Bulldogs at 3:00pm local time. The Bangkok City Bulldogs, formerly Lat Phrao, are one of two Bangkok based teams in the Central Zone, whilst the Broncos are from the Pattaya region.

The second match, will be between the Nonthaburi Knights and the Sattahip Storm. The Sattahip Storm are based out of the Navy bases in the Chonburi Province district, whilst the Knights represent the Suan Yai, Talat Khwan, Bang Khen, Bang Kraso and Tha Sai districts north of Bangkok.

Further details around the competition, including the other teams and fixtures will be announced shortly.

ASEAN Super League matches are played under International Rugby League rules, and have been sanctioned by both the Asia Pacific Rugby League Confederation and Rugby League International Federation (RLIF).

Round One:

3:00pm : Bang Lamung Broncos v Bangkok City Bulldogs
4:30pm : Nonthaburi Knights v Sattahip Storm

KMUT Stadium, Ladkrabang

You may also like
Ubon Wild Bees open season with victory
Ubon Wild Bees return to the field this Sunday
Match Report: Sattahip record win over Nonthaburi
Match Report: Bangkok City Bulldogs v Banglamung Broncos